

**FYDRO** Nepal has awarded its prestigious Excellence Award and Life Time Achievement Award 2073 to the prominent personalities of energy and water resources sector in Nepal amidst a program held on BS Chiatra 31, 2073 at the auditorium of Nepal Tourism Board, Kathmandu, Nepal. The **HYDRO** Nepal **Excellence Award is** established to honor a person or institution that has made an outstanding contribution in the field of water, energy and/or the environment.

**HYDRO** Nepal has conferred its **Excellence Award** for the year BS 2073 to **Mr. Kul Man Ghising**, Managing Director of Nepal Electricity Authority (NEA) of Nepal for his untiring efforts and outstanding performances in energy management for removing and minimizing the load shedding in Nepal with his technical expertise and management capability. Dr. Arbind Kumar Mishra, Hon'ble Member of National Planning Commission, Nepal was the Chief Guest in the program and has handed over the Award to the recipient.



Likewise, **HYDRO** Nepal has conferred the **Life Time Achievement Award**, **2073** to **Dr. Hari Man Shrestha**, Water Resources Expert, for his legendary contribution toward the establishment of Nepal's theoretical hydropower potential at 83,000 megawatts. Mr. Anup Kumar Upadhyay, Secretary, Ministry of Energy, Government of Nepal was the special guest in the program and has handed over the Award to the recipient.

**Dr. Hari Man Shrestha**, *a pioneer of hydropower in Nepal*, while conducting an academic research for his Cadastre of Hydropower Resources Ph.D. thesis at the Moscow Power Institute (then USSR), in 1966 AD, came up with an exciting finding, which showed Nepal's theoretical hydropower potential at an 83,000 megawatts.

Fifty years on, that figure still stands as the '*Mantra*' on Nepal's hydropower potential.



We do hope that the **HYDRO Nepal Excellence Award** will provide an additional impetus and motivation to **Mr. Kul Man Ghising**, Managing Director of Nepal Electricity Authority of Nepal to move forward on his efforts and endeavors to make Nepal a self-sufficient, hydroelectricity exporting and hydropowerful nation.

Likewise, the **HYDRO** Nepal Life Time Achievement Award to Dr. Hari Man Shrestha is a recognition and appreciation to his devotion and untiring contribution for the development of Nepal's water resources and hydropower for the benefit of Nepal and Nepali people. his outstanding contributions in the field of Water Resources through media in Nepal. Mr. Thapa is a wellknown journalist of Nepal.

The second HYDRO Nepal Excellence Award in Energy (Hydropower) for the year 2009 was conferred upon to Dr. Damber B Nepali for his outstanding contribution in presenting a new and successful model of hydropower development in Public Private Partnership modality and successful completion of the Chilime Hydropower Project of 22.1 MW capacity.



We wish **Mr. Kul Man Ghising** every success in his future endeavors.

Following members of evaluation committee has unanimously selected the recipient of the **HYDRO** Nepal Excellence Award and **HYDRO** Nepal Life Time Achievement Award for the year BS 2073.

Mr. Surya Man Shakya, Visiting Faculty, Kathmandu University: Chairperson

Mr. Khadg B Bisht, Immediate Past President, IPPAN: Member

Mr. Jiba Lamichhane, Former President, NRN: Member

Mr. Upendra Dev Bhatta, Editor-in-Chief, HYDRO Nepal Journal: Member Secretary

Mr. Rajendra P Thanju, Founder/ Associate Editor, HYDRO Nepal Journal: Coordinator

Past recipients of HYDRO Nepal Excellence Award included:

The first **HYDRO** Nepal Excellence Award in Water Resources for the year 2008 was conferred upon to **Mr. Bikash Thapa** of Kantipur Publications for The third HYDRO Nepal Excellence Award in Energy (Hydropower) for the year 2010 was conferred upon to Er. Gyanendra L Pradhan for his outstanding performance and untiring, tenacious and entrepreneurial efforts in hydropower and energy development in Nepal.

The fourth HYDRO Nepal Excellence Award in Energy for the year 2011 was conferred upon to Mr. Gokarna Bista, the then Honorable Minister for Energy, Government of Nepal for his outstanding initiation and determined efforts for hydropower development and energy efficiency in Nepal.

The fifth HYDRO Nepal Excellence Award for the year 2013 was conferred upon to Independent Power Producers' Association, Nepal (IPPAN) for its outstanding and long-running contribution to fostering a positive environment for hydropower development in Nepal.

Over the years, IPPAN has strongly voiced the concerns of the private hydropower developers for the overall development of the power sector in Nepal. IPPAN is an autonomous, non-profit, nongovernmental organization working in the area of hydropower development in Nepal.

HYDRO NEPAL | ISSUE NO. 21 | JULY 2017