Pollen Morphology of Angiosperms of Central Nepal

  • Pushpa Karna Mallick Tribhuvan University, Department of Botany, Tri-Chandra Multiple Campus, Kathmandu


Morphological structures of pollen-grains of fifteen species of angiosperms collected from Central Nepal were cytologically carried out. Pollen structure of fifteen  species viz. Antirrhium majus from family Plantaginaceae, Brunfelsia pauciflora and Petunia hybrida from Solanaceae, Centurea cyanus and Chrysanthemum morifolium from Asteraceae, Malvaviscous  arboreus from Malvaceae, Lantana camera from Verbenaceae, Chlorophytum comosum from Asperagaceae, Oxalis europia from Oxilidaceae, Jasminum officinale from Oleaceae, Geranium roseous from Geranaceae, Mirabilis jalapa from Nyctaginaceae, Phlox paniculata from Polymoniaceae and Tradescantia brivifolia from commelinaceae studied in this investigation. Most of the structure of pollen found to be spheroidal, some irregular, oval, elongated and circular. The present study gives an account of variations of pollen grain structure within the angiosperms family. Triporate to polyprate aperture and echinate to smooth walled exine were observed in present study. Pollen morphology of the angiosperm is significantly helpful at the generic and specific level in plant taxonomy.

Int. J. Appl. Sci. Biotechnol. Vol 7(1): 102-107



Download data is not yet available.
How to Cite
Karna Mallick, P. (2019). Pollen Morphology of Angiosperms of Central Nepal. International Journal of Applied Sciences and Biotechnology, 7(1), 102-107. https://doi.org/10.3126/ijasbt.v7i1.23317
Research Articles: Biological Sciences