Focus and Scope

Nepal Journal of Biotechnology (NJB) is an open access, peer-reviewed and refereed international online journal. NJB publishes original papers, review papers, conceptual framework, analytical and simulation models, case studies, empirical/conceptual research, technical notes, and book reviews in the fields of:
Biotechnology
Molecular Biology
Microbiology
Parasitology
Biochemistry
Medical science
Plant science
Animal science
Bioinformatics and
other Omic sciences- Bioprocess, Biochemical Engineering, Organic chemistry and so on.

Nepal Journal of Biotechnology aims to provide an international forum for encouraging interdisciplinary discussions and contributing to the advancement of Biotechnology, benefiting readers and authors by accelerating the dissemination of research information and providing maximum access to scholarly communication.

Peer Review Process

Manuscript processing and review policy
The editorial review process of NJB consisting of two stages; pre-review and peer review.

Pre-review
The manuscript submitted to the journal is pre-reviewed by a member of the Editorial board on the basis of following criteria.

  1. Whether theme of the paper meets the scope of the journal.
  2. Whether the paper has the potential to make a substantial contribution to the development of a broad range of prescribed subject area?
  3. Whether the paper appropriately formatted for Nepal Journal of Biotechnology.
  4. Whether the paper is novel and interesting.

Editor in Chief communicates the decision to the corresponding author if the paper is to be rejected.

Peer review
If a paper is not rejected at the pre-review stage it then goes into peer review. Each paper is typically reviewed by independent referees, manuscripts are subjected a single blind peer review abiding by the framework of the organization and the journal and to cater to the need for diffusing knowledge across practicing areas in the field of Biotechnology. The peer-review process is done by our pool of esteemed reviewers with an in-depth knowledge in different areas of Biotechnology.  Editor in Chief then makes the decision concerning publication, in consultation with member of the editorial team either:

  • Accepted with minor revision – the paper doesn’t need to go through review process again.
  • Accepted with major revision – the paper needs to go through review process again with the option of rejection.
  • Reject - the paper is not acceptable for publication and re-submission will not be considered;

Nepal Journal of Biotechnology endeavours to ensure critical and fair review of the manuscripts. The average time of first decision is approximately 35 days from the submission of the paper. The decision of the Editors is final and will only be changed under exceptional circumstances.

Publication Frequency

The Nepal Journal of Biotechnology is published annually in the last week of December.

Open Access Policy

This journal provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge.

Editorial Board

Editor in Chief:
Dr. Mahendra Maharjan

Associate Professor
Central Department of Zoology
Tribhuvan University (T.U.), Kirtipur
Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone No: 9841760463
Email: njb.bsn@gmail.com, Maharjan.m@gmail.com

Editorial Board Members:
Mr. Nabin Narayan Munankarmi


Lecturer
Bhaktapur Multiple Campus
Bhaktapur, Nepal
Mobile No: 9841585197
Email: Nabin2045@gmail.com

Dr. Bhupal Govinda Shrestha

Department of Biotechnology
Kathmandu University
Dhulikhel, Nepal
Mobile No: 9851163725
Email: Bgs@ku.edu.np, bhupstha@gmail.com

Dr. Dipesh Dhakal


Institute of Biomolecule Reconstruction (iBR)
Department of BT-Copnvergent Pharmaceutical Engineering
Sunmoon University
Asan, Korea
Email: njb.bsn@gmail.com, medipesh@gmail.com

Prof. Dr. Bijaya Pant


Professor
Central Department of Botany
Kirtipur, Nepal
Mobile No: 9841359626
Email: b.pant@cdbtu.edu.np, bijayapant@gmail.com

Dr. Bijay Bajracharya

Microbiologist
Vector borne disease research and training center
Nepal Government
Mobile No: 9841639264
Email: bjbajra@gmail.com

Dr. Jyoti Maharjan

Senior Scientific Officer
Nepal Academy of Science and Technology (NAST)
Khumaltar, Nepal
Mobile No: 9841293003
Email: jyotimaharjan@yahoo.com

Dr. Bishnu Marasini

Co-Ordinator
Department of Biotechnology
NIST, Khusibu
Mobile No: 9847066906
Email: bishnu_marasini@yahoo.com

Dr. Raunak Shrestha

Researcher
University of British Colombia
Vancouver, BC
Canada
Laboratory of Advanced Genome Analysis
Vancouver Prostate Centre
Vancouver, BC
Canada
Email: rshrestha@prostatecentre.com

Dr. Roshan Lal Shrestha

Visiting Post Doctoral Fellow
Cencer Genetics Branch
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD
USA
Email: rosh.nep@googlemail.com, roshan.shrestha@nih.gov

Dr. Rajendra Prasad Pangeni

Post-Doctoral Fellow
Department of Neurology
Feinberg School of Medicine
Northwestern University
Chicago
USA
Email: operonrp@hotmail.com

Mr. Shishir Sharma

Deputy Head
Department of Biotechnology
Asian Institute of Technology and Management (AITM)
Khumaltar, Nepal
Mobile No: 9841382241
Email: Shishir8848@yahoo.com

Mr. Megh Raj Bhatt

Bioinformatics Officer
Everest Biotech. Pvt. Ltd.
Khumaltar, Nepal
Mobile No: 9849120647
Email: micromega2008@gmail.com

Mr. Saroj Khatiwada

Lecturer in Biochemistry
CIST College
Kathmandu, Nepal
Mobile No: 9840022599
Email: Khatiwadasaroj22@gmail.com

Mr. Sagar Aryal


Lecturer in Microbiology
St. Xavier's College
Kathmandu, Nepal
Mobile No: 9851202032
Email: broneps1@gmail.com

Advisory Board

Prof. Klaus Ammann, Switzerland,  klaus.ammann@ips.unibe.ch
Prof. Jae Kyung Sohng, Korea, sohng@sunmoon.ac.kr
Prof. Tika B Karki, Nepal, tbk@wlink.com.np
Dr. Benu P. Adhikari, Australia, b.adhikari@ballarat.edu.au
Dr. Raju Adhikari, Australia, Raju.Adhikari@csiro.au
Dr Binesh Shrestha, UK, Binesh.Shrestha@sgc.ox.ac.uk
Dr. Soma Marla, India, soma.marla@nbpgr.ernet.in
Dr. Inshad Ali Khan, India, iakhan@iiim.res.in
Dr Dinesh Bhuju, Nepal, dineshbhuju@gmail.com
Dr. Hari P. Bimb, Nepal, bimbhp49@gmail.com
Dr. Sameer  Mani Dixit, Nepal, s.dixit@cmdn.org
Dr. Prabhat Kunwar, USA, pskunwar@gmail.com
Dr Dhurva Gauchan, Nepal, gauchan9@hotmail.com
Bhinu Shova Tuladhar, Nepal, bhinut@yahoo.com
Dr Bal Krishna Joshi, USA, joshibalak@yahoo.com
Dr. Niranjan Parajuli, parajuliniranjan@yahoo.com

Publication Fees

Publication in NJB is totally FREE (No Article submission and processing charges), as one of the main goals of the journal is to provide global researchers with a free publishing platform.